Cover: Documentations and Methods

Documentations and Methods

German Research Foundation (editor)


Peer Review

The Permanent Senate Commission for the Investigation of Health Hazards of Chemical Compounds in the Work Area (Ständige Senatskommission zur Prüfung gesundheitsschädlicher Arbeitsstoffe) publishes the results of its activities in the four serial publications MAK Value Documentations, Assessment Values in Biological Material, Air Monitoring Methods and Biomonitoring Methods. The publications are discussed intensively (in working groups and in the plenum) by 25 to 50 experts present at the meetings of the Commission and are released only under universal agreement. The completed evaluations of MAK and BAT Values and of the other classifications are made public on July 1st of every year in the List of MAK and BAT Values and on the homepage of the Commission at the DFG. This is followed by a six-month public consultation period. During this time, the manuscripts are made available on demand, and the scientific comments received are discussed within the Commission and taken into consideration before the final publication of the respective documentations. In addition, all the documents are made available to the Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (Bundesanstalt für Arbeitsschutz und Arbeitsmedizin (BAuA)) and Subcommittee III of the Committee on Hazardous Substances (Ausschuss für Gefahrstoffe (AGS)) of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales) during the period of public consultation, scientifically assessed and commented upon if desired. Changes made after public consultation are indicated in the subsequent List of MAK and BAT Values.

In the case of the Air Monitoring Methods and Biomonitoring Methods an extensive discussion and review process takes place within the expert groups. The methods described are first of all tested independently by another laboratory (method developers and testers) before publication. Furthermore, the method descriptions are critically evaluated and discussed at the meetings, also by participating guests who are not members of the Commission. Finally, the method descriptions are released for publication.

Conflict of interest

In view of the responsibility of the Commission, scientists are ad personam appointed members in their capacity as experts and not as representatives of the institutions or companies in which they work. Besides members, also Guests and Permanent Guests participate in the Commission’s work. Guests may be invited as scientific experts for specific questions and tasks, to support the Commission in their evaluations and decisions. As Permanent Guests, scientists and other experts are appointed with either advisory function, research assignments or official responsibilities within public authorities. As they belong to institutions potentially receiving the Commission’s advice they have no voting rights. In this way a possible conflict of interest should be excluded from the start. Before every consultation, all participants are requested to report potential conflicts of interest; any such are documented and evaluated, and consequences for the involvement of the participant in the discussion and voting process are established.

https://www.dfg.de/formulare/72_01/72_01_en.pdf

Ethical rules

The Permanent Senate Commission for the Investigation of Health Hazards of Chemical Compounds in the Work Area (Ständige Senatskommission zur Prüfung gesundheitsschädlicher Arbeitsstoffe) primarily uses data from publicly available studies for its work (published peer-reviewed in-vitro studies, animal experiments and studies in humans); in addition, the commission considers unpublished animal studies which conform with OECD guidelines, also from the industrial context if the complete study report is available. The Commission does not carry out such studies itself nor does it give any orders to carry them out.
Adherence to the prescribed legal and ethical standards with regard to animal experiments and volunteer studies has been checked in the context of research grants and/or in connection with the publication of the results. Adherence to the legal and ethical requirements also applies when collecting study results. If there are any doubts whether ethical standards were met, studies will not be included in the final evaluation.

Cover: Begründungen und Methoden

Begründungen und Methoden

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (Herausgeber)


Peer Review

Die Ständige Senatskommission zur Prüfung gesundheitsschädlicher Arbeitsstoffe veröffentlicht die Ergebnisse ihrer Tätigkeit in den vier Publikationsreihen MAK-Begründungen (MAK Value Documentations), Beurteilungswerte in biologischem Material (Assessment Values in Biological Material), Luftanalysen-Methoden (Air Monitoring Methods) und Biomonitoring-Methoden (Biomonitoring Methods). Die Publikationen werden in den Sitzungen der Kommission (in Arbeitsgruppen und im Plenum) unter den ca. 25 bis 50 Anwesenden intensiv diskutiert und im Konsens verabschiedet. Die Bekanntgabe der abgeschlossenen Überprüfungen von MAK- und BAT-Werten sowie der weiteren Einstufungen erfolgt zum 1. Juli eines Jahres in der MAK- und BAT-Werte-Liste sowie auf der Homepage der Kommission bei der DFG. Daran schließt sich eine sechsmonatige öffentliche Kommentierungsphase an. Die Manuskripte werden auf Anfrage zur Verfügung gestellt, eingehende wissenschaftliche Kommentare werden in der Kommission diskutiert und vor der endgültigen Veröffentlichung berücksichtigt. Weiterhin werden alle Dokumente der Bundesanstalt für Arbeitsschutz und Arbeitsmedizin (BAuA) und dem Unterausschuss III des Ausschusses für Gefahrstoffe des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales während der Kommentierungsphase zur Verfügung gestellt, wissenschaftlich geprüft und ggf. kommentiert. Änderungen in der Kommentierungsphase werden mit der darauffolgenden MAK- und BAT-Werte-Liste bekannt gegeben.

Bei den „Luftanalysen-Methoden“ und „Biomonitoring-Methoden“ findet ein ausführlicher Diskussions- bzw. Review-Prozess innerhalb der Arbeitsgruppen statt. Die beschriebenen Methoden werden vor der Veröffentlichung zunächst durch ein anderes Labor unabhängig geprüft (Methodenentwickler und Prüfer). Die Methodenbeschreibungen werden anschließend in der Sitzung durch teilnehmende Gäste, die keine Mitglieder der Kommission sind, kritisch bewertet und diskutiert. Erst danach erfolgt die Freigabe zur Veröffentlichung.

Interessenskonflikte

Im Hinblick auf die Aufgabe der Kommission werden als Mitglieder Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen ad personam in ihrer Eigenschaft als sachkundige Experten berufen und nicht als Vertreter der Institutionen oder Unternehmen, in denen sie tätig sind. Neben diesen Mitgliedern arbeiten in der Kommission auch Gäste und Ständige Gäste mit. Gäste können von der Kommission und den Arbeitsgruppen als Experten für spezifische Themen eingeladen werden. Die Gäste sollen durch ihr Fachwissen die Kommission bei ihrem Evaluierungs-und Entscheidungsprozess unterstützen. Als Ständige Gäste mit beratender Stimme werden Wissenschaftler und andere sachverständige Personen aus Behörden berufen, die sowohl mit Forschungsaufgaben betraut sein als auch hoheitliche Aufgaben wahrnehmen können. Da sie institutionell den potentiellen Beratungsnehmern angehören, erhalten sie kein Stimmrecht. So soll ein möglicher Interessenkonflikt von vornherein vermieden werden. Vor jeder Beratung werden von allen Teilnehmern mögliche Interessenskonflikte abgefragt, dokumentiert sowie bewertet und Konsequenzen für das Verhalten in Diskussion und Abstimmung festgelegt.

https://www.dfg.de/formulare/72_01/72_01_de.pdf

Ethikerklärung

Die Ständige Senatskommission zur Prüfung gesundheitsschädlicher Arbeitsstoffe greift für ihre Arbeit im Wesentlichen auf Daten aus öffentlich zugänglichen Studien (In-vitro-, tierexperimentelle und Humanstudien) zurück; zudem bezieht sie unveröffentlichte, OECD-Prüfrichtlinien-konforme Tierstudien, auch aus dem industriellen Kontext, mit ein, wenn ein Zugang zu den vollständigen Studienberichten gewährleistet ist. Die Kommission führt solche Studien weder selbst durch, noch gibt sie diese in Auftrag.
Die Einhaltung der erforderlichen rechtlichen und ethischen Standards in Bezug auf tierexperimentelle Studien und Probandenstudien wurde im Kontext der Bewilligung der Mittel durch den Fördergeber und/oder im Zusammenhang mit der Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse geprüft. Die Einhaltung der rechtlichen und ethischen Bestimmungen besteht insofern auch bei der Zusammenführung der Studienergebnisse. Studien, bei denen Zweifel bestehen, ob ethische Standards eingehalten wurden, werden in die abschließende Bewertung nicht einbezogen.